Please note the current NHA Rule:

Prohibited substances in horses Rule 73.4.2 

Natural or herbal substances or remedies and/or drugs which have any of the following properties:   antipyretic, analgesic and anti-inflammatory properties.

Cannabidiol (CBD) and Cannabidiolic acid (CBDA) are natural substances found in many Cannabis plant species, including cannabis (dagga) and hemp plants. Medicinal oils, ointment and creams which originate from these plants could contain elevated levels of these substances. Furthermore, oil preparations of pure CBD which have been of isolated from plants are now available.

CBD and CBDA are reported to have anti-inflammatory properties and these are prohibited substances in horseracing. 

It is cautioned that the use of such preparations and the use of horse bedding which has hemp plant as a component (which horses may be able to ingest) could result in prohibited substance positive findings in horses.

The South African Veterinary Council (SAVC) has the requirement that registered medication which has been prescribed for a particular horse (for a particular, diagnosed ailment or condition) must be reserved for the treatment of that specific animal. This practise must be respected and followed by all equine veterinarians.

The NHA has become aware of a practise where registered veterinary preparations which have been formally prescribed for a particular horse are being used by horse trainers / owners to administer to another horse(s).  This has especially been observed with prescriptions and preparations for EIPH (Furosemide), for sedation (Acepromazine / ACP) and for NSAID’s (Flunixin). This is in direct contravention with the above veterinary requirement of the SAVC and it is in contravention with the Rules and of the NHA and the culture of horse welfare at the NHA.   

This is implied by  Rule 10.5.16 of the NHA which specifies that a veterinary prescribed preparation of a registered drug must specific for a horse, shown below:

10.5.16 shall not have in his possession or on the premises where he trains, any medicine, drug or related substance which….. is specified in any regulations….  unless the medicine, drug or related substance has been prescribed by a Veterinary Surgeon and, notwithstanding the manufacturers’ label, also contains a further label indicating at least the following  ….. the name of the HORSE to which the medicine, drug or related substance is to be administered….

Be aware that evidence of the use of a prescribed preparation or a registered drug to another horse than indicated on the label of a veterinary preparation (and indicated accordingly by a veterinary treatment / prescription entry for a specific horse within the corresponding VTR) constitutes a prosecutable offence which will be called to inquiry or which will be liable with a fine.

As the COVID-19 virus is spreading rapidly across South Africa, we at the NHA want to minimize the spread of this novel Coronavirus. Following President Ramaphosa's address to the nation last Sunday evening, we find ourselves in an unprecedented global pandemic. Like many organisations, the health and safety of our employees and stakeholder is our top priority. 

To help safeguard our employees and you, we are acting on the advice of the World Health Organisation, the South African Government and other reliable sources to ensure that our colleagues are supported and updated with the latest guidance from maintaining proper hygiene to travel restrictions. Accordingly, to ensure business continuity whilst also keeping our employees safe, the NHA will be working with rotational staff. While the degree of impact is likely to vary across the provinces, our employees will be assisted with tools to allow them to work from remote locations to ensure minimal disruption to business operations. 

The NHA is now in unchartered territory. We recognise that these are unsettling times, and we are fully aware of the business challenges that this pandemic is having on our business operations. As the situation is dynamic and may change depending on the spread of the virus, we shall continue to monitor the situation both nationally and internationally and keep you informed of potential changes to our services. 

We thank you for your support and understanding in this regard and trust that this pandemic is contained for the good of horseracing in South Africa.

 Should you have any questions, please do not hesitate to contact us at This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. 

In terms of Clauses 13 and 26 of the Constitution of The National Horseracing Authority of Southern Africa (“the NHA”), any amendment to the Constitution shall be by way of a special resolution, passed at a Special General Meeting called for that purpose. 


The National Board has resolved to call, and notice is accordingly hereby given, of a Special General Meeting to be held on Wednesday, 15 January 2020 immediately following the Annual General Meeting at 12h00, at the Head Office of the NHA, Turf Club Street, Turffontein, to consider and vote on the proposed amendments to the Constitution as set out in the document titled: “Proposed Amendments to the Constitution of The National Horseracing Authority – January 2020” a copy of which is available on the link below.


For Proposed Amendments Click Here

For Proxy Form Click Here


Vee Moodley 

Chief Executive                                                                                      13 December 2019

Notice is hereby given that the One Hundred and Thirty Eighth Annual General Meeting of Members will be held at the offices of The National Horseracing Authority, Turf Club Street, Turffontein, on Wednesday, 15 January 2020 at 12:00 to transact the following business:


  1.    To consider and confirm the Minutes of the Annual General Meeting of Members held on Wednesday, 16 January 2019.


  1.    To consider the Report of the Chairman of the National Board of Directors for the year ended 31 July 2019.


  1.    To receive and consider the audited Financial Statements of The National Horseracing Authority of Southern Africa for the period ended 31 July 2019.


  1.    To appoint the Authority’s Auditors.


  1.    To transact any business which may be transacted at an Annual General Meeting.


 Proxy Forms are available Click Here 


Vee Moodley 

Chief Executive                                                                                                    13 December 2019